Sunday, February 16, 2014

Walt Disney World News and Rumors 2/10/14 - 2/16/14

News and Rumors are gathered from various different sources. All rumors are rumors and are to be taken as such. 

Magic Kingdom
  • This week saw a showcase of the different costumes that the Festival of Fantasy Parade will use, as well as a full line up of the parade.  For more information, read this blog post.
  • PUSH the Talking Trash Can is no longer meeting with guests. 
  • Some of the walls are down at the Seven Dwarfs Mine Train.  In addition, the media has been invited to a press event on April 30th.  If I were to take a bet, I would guess soft openings of the attraction will happen sometime in March.  If not then, definitely by the first few weeks of April.

  • A special exhibit and show will take place at Innoventions West called "Science Thrills Live" presented by Raytheon.  It will last from Feb. 17th - 21st and showtimes are at 11:00 a.m., 1:00 p.m., 2:00 p.m., 3:00 p.m., and 4:00 p.m. 
  • Anna and Elsa have been extended to an indefinite date.  They can be found at the Norway Pavilion meeting guests. 

Disney's Animal Kingdom
  • Mickey's Jammin' Jungle Parade will be ending it's 12+ year run sometime in June, due to construction.
Walt Disney World Resorts
  • At Disney's Polynesian Resort, the lobby of the Great Ceremonial House will see refurbishment work from March 1 until sometime in December 2014. Also, their quick service dining location, Captain Cook’s will close sometime in March and will reopen sometime in June. A replacement dining option will be available.  Finally, the Volcano Pool will see a refurbishment from sometime in August until some point in 2015.

General Walt Disney World News
  • Disney has upgraded the My Disney Experience app. (for iTunes...the Android update is coming soon.)
  • A second ferry boat dock is currently under construction for the Transportation and Ticket Center.
  • The Atlanta Braves will start Spring Training games at the ESPN Wide World of Sports soon.  The schedule is: 
    Wednesday, February 26  Detroit Tigers 1:05pm
    Friday, February 28 Houston Astros 6:05pm
    Sunday, March 2 Detroit Tigers 1:05pm
    Monday, March 3 New York Mets 1:05pm
    Tuesday, March 4 Washington Nationals 1:05pm
    Thursday, March 6 Washington Nationals 6:05pm
    Saturday, March 8 Miami Marlins 1:05pm
    Tuesday, March 11 Philadelphia Phillies 1:05pm
    Wednesday, March 12 Washington Nationals 1:05pm
    Friday, March 14 Tampa Bay Rays 1:05pm
    Saturday, March 15 St. Louis Cardinals 1:05pm
    Wednesday, March 19 New York Yankees 1:05pm
    Friday, March 21 Detroit Tigers 1:05pm
    Saturday, March 22 Boston Red Sox 1:05pm
    Sunday, March 23 New York Mets 1:05pm
    Monday, March 24 Houston Astros 6:05pm
    Wednesday, March 26 Miami Marlins 1:05pm

Please purchase a subscription through this link and help support this blog.

No comments: